Week 8- 3260

This is my last PIDP course. I started the first course in January 2016 and completed my goal of finishing all 7 courses in 1 year….it’s been a busy year.

Here’s a summary of what I’ve learned, how my thinking has changed and what action I’ll be taking on what I’ve learned for each PIDP course.

 

PIDP 3100-Foundations of Adult Education

  • This was the second PIDP course that I took and I chose the two weekend classes option offered here in Victoria. It was a great introductory course into the program and I wish I had taken it first. We learned all about student’s barriers, domains of learning and learning theories. I was particularly taken with Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs theory.
  • This has changed my thinking because I was unaware that these learning theories existed, yet I always felt the need to provide my students with a safe learning environment.
  • I will continue to provide my students with a safe learning environment, which meets their basic needs while considering other levels of Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs as well. Students will learn best if all of their needs are being met, which includes their basic needs and their psychological needs such as, a sense of belonging, self-esteem and confidence.

 

PIDP 3210-Curriculum Development

  • This is the first PIDP course that I took and I chose to complete it online. This was a very difficult course for me as it had been over thirty years since I had done any formal education. I had never done any reflecting writing before and I had to google what APA formatting meant before I could even begin. Once I got started, I couldn’t stop. I learned how to design a curriculum and make a course outline so that all the material will be covered and students will know what they will be learning in the course. Then breaking this down even further to know how to create a lesson plan so that your objectives match your outcomes. There are so many variables and wording to consider when planning.
  • Planning is a very important element to instructing. Without a plan, you are just crossing your fingers and hoping that all of the content will be covered and will meet the outcomes. Learn to plan ahead.
  • In the future, I will create a lesson plan to meet the objectives, which will in turn meet the course outcomes.

 

PIDP 3220-Delivery of Instruction

  • I just finished this course in September because I was waiting for it to be delivered in Victoria. It was a small intimate class, which was perfect for delivering three mini-lessons. First, we had to create our mini-lessons and then deliver them to the class while providing feedback to each other. I learned a lot about delivering instruction with clarity and enthusiasm while still following a lesson plan.
  • I had previously learned how to create a lesson plan in 3210-Curriculum Development, but now I learned how to effectively deliver that lesson plan. The importance of clarity, organization, pre-assessment, content, post-assessment and summary.
  • In the future, I will take the time to make routine lesson plans that have a clear objective. It seems easier to instruct when everything is organized on paper for each lesson, nothing seems to get missed. If I have a plan, it can always be changed or altered during the lesson as long as my lesson still contains clear instruction.

 

PIDP 3230-Evaluation of Learning

  • This was a very time-consuming online course, but it had lots of great information. I learned how to evaluate and/or assess students’ learning either formative or summative. How to create a reliable, valid, well-aligned exam and how to create a digital project to be viewed online.
  • The biggest impact that this course had on me was the value of performing formative assessment for students. This allows students to be able to receive necessary feedback before summative evaluation. To be honest, I wish I didn’t have to do evaluations at all, simply assessments. I do understand the need for some sort of grade for evaluation, but sometimes it’s not a very accurate representation of students learning. Let’s do formative assessments to help students have the chance to learn where they need to improve so that they can spend more attention in those areas.
  • I plan to do more formative assessments and provide students with the necessary feedback to aid them in their summative evaluation. This will give students more confidence in their abilities as I will be their guide on the side.

 

PIDP 3240- Media-enhanced Learning

  • I was told that this course would be the most difficult of all of the PIDP courses, so I was a little concerned. I proceeded into it slowly, so that I didn’t get overwhelmed right away. Well, it was one of the best courses that I took. I learned so much and received 100%. I learned all about the new trends in technology and social media and how to create a podcast. I even learned what a Pecha Kucha PowerPoint was and then created one myself. Wow!!
  • Learning new technology is nothing to be afraid of. It’s an ongoing, ever-changing method of delivering instruction. There will always be something new and better coming along, so why not try it out as you go. Why not give your students some online content and see if they like it delivered that way.
  • Don’t overdo technology in the classroom. I would like to eventually switch my face-to-face instruction to a flipped classroom, but for now I’m considering a hybrid version. Preparing content to be viewed on students own time and then students coming to class for discussion on that content and then applying that content in a clinic setting is something that I see in my future.

 

PIDP 3250 Instructional Strategies

  • I tried to enroll into PIDP 3240 but it was full, so I did 3250 first instead. This probably wasn’t the best idea. Most students already knew how to create a blog (in 3240), but this was a huge learning curve for me. I stumbled and swore my way through and created a blog that I’m very proud of now. I used the blog again in 3240 and now again in 3260. As much as I disliked participating in the discussion forum, I eventually overcame that as well. There were so many interesting topics to participate in I sort of just got caught up in the content. I even created my first PowToon digital project. The most important thing that I learned was that there are a variety of instructional strategies to help students learn.
  • This course definitely pushed me out of my comfort zone and I am more knowledgeable from it. I can now say that’s how it changed my thinking. I have become a self-regulated learner and will be able to recognize this in my students.
  • I will be able to help students learn using a variety of instructional strategies. All learners are different, so it’s great to have this knowledge and be able to apply it help different learners.

 

PIDP 3260-Professional Practice

  • This is my last PIDP course before my Capstone Project. I’ve been able to achieve my goal of completing all of the courses in less than one year. The most important thing that I learned in this course was obtaining regular feedback from our learners regarding our instruction is very valuable feedback. I also created another PowToon digital project on The Minute Paper, which is a great feedback strategy.
  • My thinking has changed because before this course I was only concerned about feedback from my students as to their learning. I had never considered gathering feedback from students regarding my instruction. Feedback is great and can be used in both directions.
  • In the future, I will be using feedback strategies such as the Minute Paper on a regular basis. By obtaining regular constructive feedback, reflecting on them and then making the necessary changes, it will help me to learn what I could be doing better.

I am a lifelong learner.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

