Week 5-3250

Wow, I’m almost finished week 5 of 3250. I’ve had another busy week. I just submitted my last assignment for 3230 last saturday, so that’s another course completed and now I can concentrate more on 3250. Last week my class was on practicum, so I took the week to prepare for this weeks upcoming lessons. This week I started instructing 5 hours a day, so by the time I get home, most of my time set aside for 3250 is when my brain is done for the day. I’ve tried my best to participate in most of the forums whenever possible.

I enjoyed the video by Susan Cain: The Power of Introverts. It was a great video to reflect on and write my final reflective journal. I consider myself an introvert, so I could really relate to many of her ideas. The fact that introverts have extraordinary talents and should be encouraged is awesome. Throughout these PIDP courses, they all encourage reflective thinking and an introvert must be given time for this. An introvert gains their energy from within, while extroverts gain their energy from others. It’s very difficult to combine students to do group work when introverts require quiet time and extroverts do not. I like Cain’s suggestion near the end of her video that we should “Stop the group work”. I totally agree with her. I do minimal group work when I instruct, but I definitely encourage teamwork. Having to do group work as an introvert is not providing a positive learning environment. Group work definitely has it’s benefits to help students work together and learn from others, but do the pros outweigh the cons?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

