Week 2-3250

 

Well, it’s been another busy week. My blog is finally up and running. This has been a huge learning curve for me, so much to learn just to get the blog started. I’ve fumbled my way through, starting first with a blog that looked more like a website instead of a blog. Although I liked the education theme I chose, it just wasn’t right for this assignment. So, two days ago I decided to change themes and that’s where my challenge skyrocketed to full throttle. I came very close to giving up and quitting. I spent the morning trying to modify my existing theme, only to find out it wasn’t possible and then spent the afternoon choosing and reformatting a new theme. Everything I went to do, I had to find out how to do it. I went to tutorials that used vocabulary I didn’t understand, so then I’d have to google that and then return back to the tutorial. By the end of an entire day, I was finally back where I started, but with a new theme. I spent yesterday working with the new theme, customizing a new menu and adding new pages. It’s all been a huge challenge for me, very frustrating at times, but very rewarding knowing that I stuck with it. I’m now very proud of my end result of my blog. Now, it’s time to start using it!

5 Things I learned this week!

  1. Creative Commons– is not a gathering area to do crafts-it’s a copyright license that gives the public permission to share your creative work on the conditions that you choose
  2. Dashboard– is not only found in a car-it’s an area where you create the contents of a website or a blog
  3. Hyperlink– is not an over-energetic link-is a reference to data that a reader can either click or hover over
  4. Menu– is not only found in a restaurant to order food from-it’s a list of common links
  5. Widgets– sounds like “wedjets” we use in dentistry to stabilize dental dams-are        ready made pieces of code to be inserted in areas of a blog

Now it’s time to start focusing on the forums and using this blog. I’ve stepped out of my comfort zone again and started contributing to the forums yesterday instead of just reading them. I will start posting course content I’ve learned in a few days.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

